Susanna McLeod, And The Winners Are...

June 9, 2006

(Hum the Mission Impossible theme song to provide the appropriate atmosphere, please.)

Dateline: May 27, 2006, Chicago Illinois

The Place: The National Cartoonists Society's Reuben Awards Banquet, an elegant, black-tie dinner held at the glamourous Renaissance Hotel in downtown Chicago.

The Mission: If you choose to accept it, is to produce a beloved, award-winning cartoon that fans and pro's alike will love

The Goal: To take home the treasured Reuben Award or one of several other precious awards of achievement

And the Winners Are...

    Outstanding Cartoonist of the Year:

trophy           Mike Luckovich

He is a nationally-syndicated Editorial Cartoonist based at the Atlanta Constitution.  

(Watch for his book coming out this September, "Four More Years!", published by E C W Press.)

Luckovich book

     Best Editorial Cartoons:

Trophy           Jim Borgman, nationally-syndicated Editorial Cartoonist and co-creator of Zits.

     Best Newspaper Panel:

Trophy          Jerry Van Amerongen, Creator of Ballard Street

     Best Newspaper Comic Strip:

Trophy          Brooke McEldowney, Creator of 9 Chickweed Lane and Pibgorn

McEldowney 2

Brooke McEldowney

Ballard Street

Jerry Van Amerongen, 1998

     Best Newspaper Illustration:

Trophy          Bob Rich

     Best Magazine Feature/Magazine Illustrator:

Trophy          C. F. Payne

     Best Gag Cartoons:

Trophy          Glenn McCoy

     Best Greeting Cards:

Trophy          Gary McCoy

     Best Comic Books:

Trophy          Paul Chadwick, for Concrete, The Human Dilemma

     Best Advertising Illustration:

Trophy          Roy Doty

     Best Book Illustration:

Trophy          Ralph Steadman

     Best Animation Feature:

Trophy          Nick Park, Director of Wallace & Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit

     Best Animation Television:

Trophy          David Silverman, for The Simpsons

     The Silver T-Square

Trophy          Dick Locher, Dick Tracy cartoonist and nationally-syndicated Editorial Cartoonist with the Chicago            Tribune.

Read more about the gala NCS Awards and look up information on these wonderful artists at:

Mission: Great Possibilities has been successfully completed for this year. Congratulations to all of the winners and nominees!

© Susanna McLeod 2006